Bose QuietComfort 15 vs. JH Audio 13

Michał ‘mina86’ Nazarewicz | 25 maja 2014

A few years back I bought Bose QuietComfort 15 headphones. It was around the time I discovered just how noisy things can get at the altitude of around 10 km. QC15s turned out to be a life saver making an unbearable flights slightly more bearable.

A few months ago I decided to risk substantial amount of money and got custom-made JH Audio in-ear monitors (or IEMs), model JH13 Pro — the risk was especially big since, for obvious reasons, they couldn’t be resold. Was it worth it?

Czytaj dalej »

Progress in Games

Michał ‘mina86’ Nazarewicz | 25 listopada 2013

“…and this pun with savegames in GTA.” my friend laughed.

“What pun? What savegames?” I asked with a blank stare.

“You know, ‘Jesus saves’.” he explained looking at me like I’m crazy.

“Wait, you could save game in GTA?” I raised my brow in disbelief.

That’s how I found out about savegames in GTA. This was years after I finished the game, twice, completing each city in one go. But as fun as GTA was, it wasn’t the game I spent most time playing. That title goes to Doom 2. To this day, I put it at the top of all FPS games ever.

Why do I mention those old, long forgotten titles? Let’s fast forward a little.

Apocalypse

I don’t usually buy games on a tangible medium. Doom 3, however, is one of the few that sits on my shelve. When I played it though, I had this uneasy feeling… Something wasn’t right. Almost as if I didn’t get what I had hoped for. The game was dark, and slow. Encounters with monsters jumping out from the darkness, were separated by journeys through dark corridors. Dim lights showed you the way in the darkness as you slowly progressed in each level, but did not reveal the danger, as that was hidden in dark corners.

I’m not a great writer, so that’s probably why I overused “dark” in the above paragraph. To my defence, so did id Software. In some respects, Doom 3 felt like a technical demo of their shiny rendering engine. The team went overboard with all the new features, and instead of creating a successor of a game I love so much, they’ve created a poor attempt at duplicating System Shock 2 (a game which even with its “outdated” graphics is much more enjoyable and immersive then Doom 3)… or something… I don’t know what exactly to be honest.

Fortunately, there’s also Classic Doom 3. A mod created by Flaming Sheep Software. It is a remake of shareware levels of the original Doom, and it is wonderful. It’s fast paced, with energetic music, no unneeded interruptions, no cut-scenes, and as far as I’m concerned, that’s the game I wanted id Software to make. It’s a pity they didn’t.

Czytaj dalej »

The Internship

Michał ‘mina86’ Nazarewicz | 7 października 2013

Due to my current position, I’ve been asked about The Internship several times. Having very low expectations about that title, I’d actually been avoiding it and thus were unable to comment. I have a very special place for watching films that I don’t expect to be good though — a plane. Here I am, flying to Pittsburgh, and those are some of my thoughts.

Most importantly, apart from being filmed at Google Mountain View campus and with some of the Google employees starring in it, the film has very little to do with Google. This should not be a surprise though. In particular, it does not show how Google internships work. I should know, I host an intern. In no particular order:

  • It’s perfectly fine to go for a beer with your boss. I do it all the time. In fact, a customary way of saying goodbye to an intern is going out with the team.
  • It’s perfectly fine to date a fellow Googler or be married to one for that matter. The usual caveats apply, like you shouldn’t date your manager or report. If in doubt, ask HR and they’ll figure something out.
  • Yes, food in cafeterias and µkitchens is free. Working at Google you may in fact get so used to it, that you’ll end up taking a ‘free’ fruit in Starbucks.
  • You actually can take food home but be reasonable about it. Some offices offers plastic containers during dinner so one can take a hot meal home. Moreover, noöne will mind if you take a snack every now and then. Mountain View campus also serves lunch on weekends.
  • Googlers are not such introverts so as to being unable to talk.
  • I may be stating the obvious, but there’s no ‘winner team’ and each intern is evaluated individually. It wouldn’t make sense any other way. In fact, interns are not teamed up together nor given tasks to work on their own (i.e. without Googler’s help).
  • This again may be obvious, but for the sake of completeness, interns never work on such broad variety of subjects. Writing an app, tech support and finding clients? No one would be able to all of do that. Interns are given a specific task in a scope of the team they are in.
  • You don’t take a full big GBus to take a few people to a restaurant. But yes, something like GBus does exists, and it’s a shuttle service taking Googlers to and from offices in Bay Area. And they are awesome — convenient and even have WiFi.
  • Yes, the terms Noogler and Googly, as well as, Noogler’s hats and TGIFs are all real. Even though the last one does not take place on Fridays in all offices. There are also other terms. The two I can recall from the top of my head are: Zoogler — Googler working at the Zürich office — and Spoogler — spouse of a Googler. Their usage varies; some people don’t particularly like them.

Other then that, the film wasn’t really funny, but the story had a few highlights, like that fact that you won’t get a job at Google if you are a jerk.

Czytaj dalej »

Braid

Michał ‘mina86’ Nazarewicz | 25 grudnia 2010

I’ve just finished Braid. Not a very impressive achievement, I admit, but just as I finished the last world (or should I say the first) I immediatelly felt the need to spread the word about this wonderful game. (I do need to apologise at this point for yet another non-technical entry on my blog.)

I probably wouldn’t get myself to writing anything about the game if I hadn’t seen Video Games are Art talk by Kellee Santiego of That Game Company, who, as it turns out, mentions Braid. (Not that I consider the speech to be particularly interesting or well presented — on the contrary, in my opinion it is unstructured with rather poor arguments — but it somehow stuck in my memory.)

Czytaj dalej »

Mass Effect 2, wrażenia

Michał ‘mina86’ Nazarewicz | 11 lutego 2010

Niedawno miałem okazję ukończyć grę, która na IGN uzyskała wynik 9,6/10. Fakt ten zachęcił mnie do stworzenia wpisu, który co prawda pierwotnie nie miał być recenzją Efetku Masy 2, ale tak się o tej produkcji rozpisałem, że weszło, co wyszło…

W zasadzie pewnie sporo z tych opinii można znaleźć gdzieś w otchłaniach Internetu, więc nic odkrywczego nie będzie, ale co tam. Zacznę jednak trochę nieszablonowo, od aspektu, którego próżno szukać w zwykłych recenzjach.

Czytaj dalej »

Samsung F2380M, wrażenia

Michał ‘mina86’ Nazarewicz | 2 lutego 2010

Jakiś czas temu wszedłem w posiadanie monitora Samsung F2380M (te 23 w nazwie, jak można się domyślić, dziwnie koreluje z przekątną wyrażoną w calach) i pomyślałem, że podzielę się wrażeniami, bo jest czym.

Otóż mówiąc krótko, tego monitora nie polecam. W zasadzi sparzyłem się na tym, że kupiłem go opierając się na recenzjach w Internecie (nauczka na przyszłość — nie kupować monitorów, których nie widziało się w akcji) z których wynikało co najwyżej, że doświadczony gracz może zauważyć smużenie.

Czytaj dalej »

Python, wrażenia

Michał ‘mina86’ Nazarewicz | 31 stycznia 2010

Niedawno miałem okazję stworzyć trochę kodu w Pythonie. Popisałem sobie w nim kilka dni i muszę przyznać… język jest tragiczny, zastanowię się kilka razy zanim po raz kolejny go użyję.

Wpis ten dedykuję pewnej osobie, która ciągle mi przypomina, abym pisał nowe wpisy. :)

Czytaj dalej »

x86_64, wrażenia

Michał ‘mina86’ Nazarewicz | 18 lipca 2008

64-bitowe procesory x86_64, x64, amd64, intel64, czy jak je tam chcemy zwać, zdobywają coraz większą popularność. Jest również coraz więcej systemów operacyjnych wykorzystujących ich potencjalne możliwości. Nareszcie pozbyliśmy się problemu przekręcenie licznika w 2038! Nareszcie możemy zaadresować 1 TiB fizycznej pamięci (to, że nasza płyta główna obsługuje 3 GiB, a jak mamy szczęście 3,5 GiB to już szczegół). Nareszcie mamy 48-bitową (tj. 256 TiB) logiczną przestrzeń adresową! Do tego dochodzi lepsza obsługa instrukcji SIMD, więcej rejestrów, 64-bitowa arytmetyka itp.

Rzecz jasna nie ma nic za darmo. Za te udogodnienia musimy płacić i bynajmniej nie chodzi mi o pieniądze, bo to raczej najmniej istotne — istotniejszą kwestią jest większe zużycie pamięci z powodu użycia ośmiobajtowych wskaźników, czy wyrównania stosu do ośmiu bajtów nawet jeżeli zrzucamy na niego liczbę 32-bitową. Do tego dochodzi jeszcze bardziej skomplikowany, a przez to wolniejszy, proces tłumaczenia adresów logicznych na adresy fizyczne.

Czytaj dalej »

Wrażenia z Gentoo

Michał ‘mina86’ Nazarewicz | 12 lutego 2008

Ostatnio, przy okazji zmiany systemu plików z Reiser4 na ext3 postanowiłem zainstalować Gentoo. Głównym motywem był jednak nie system plików, a fakt posiadania 64 bitowego procesora, który nie jest wspierany przez Slackware - dystrybucję, którą używam. Tak, wiem o istnieniu Slamd64, ale od tej dystrybucji wolę trzymać się z daleka… (Update: Na chwilę obecną, gdy dodaję ten wpis do Joggera, mogę powiedzieć, że Slamd64 12.0 nie jest wcale takie złe i działa całkiem stabilnie i przyjemnie.)

Czytaj dalej »